Menu Close


The IWA Specialist Group on Microbial Ecology and Water Engineering (MEWE) is now calling for nominations for the Ardern-Lockett Award 2019 and IWA MEWE Early Career Researcher Award 2019.

Nomination is open until 15 July 2019. Visit here for more details on the awards.

Ardern-Lockett Award 2019

The Ardern-Lockett award recognises outstanding contributions to research and practice in the field of Microbial Ecology and Water Engineering. The activated sludge process was invented in 1913-1914 by Mr. Edward Ardern, chemist at the Manchester-Davyhulme wastewater treatment plant, and his co-worker, Mr. William Lockett. Ardern and Lockett understood for the first time the active role of suspension formed during the aeration of wastewater, known now as activated sludge. They introduced a recycle of this suspension formed during the aeration period.  The award is named after Ardern and Lockett in recognition of the MEWE Specialist Group’s strong link to the Activated Sludge process, and investigations into the microbial population dynamics of these systems.

Submit your nomination!

IWA MEWE Early Career Researcher Award

For the first time at the IWA Microbial Ecology and Water Engineering Specialist Conference, IWA will honour the achievements of early career researchers through the IWA MEWE Early Career Award. The inaugural award, sponsored by Hazen and Sawyer, will recognise early career IWA members who are making promising contributions to the Microbial Ecology and Water Engineering community through research and service. The early career researcher must be pre-tenure (or equivalent) and within 10 years of completion of their PhD (not including career gaps due to individual circumstances).

Submit your nomination!

An international evaluation committee will review and judge submissions for these two awards:

  • Mark van Loosdrecht (TU Delft, The Netherlands)
  • Xianghua Wen (Tsinghua University, China)
  • Nancy Love (University of Michigan, USA)
  • Satoshi Okabe (Hokkaido University, Japan)
  • Tom Curtis (Newcastle University, UK)


How to apply/how to nominate

To submit your nomination(s) for one or both of these awards, please complete the nomination application form(s) below before 15 July 2019:

Complete all fields in the online application(s) and upload all required documents. Incomplete entries will not be accepted or reviewed.

Self-nominations are encouraged and welcomed. The winner will be notified by 15 September 2019. Please note, only successful applicants will be contacted.

Nominations for the award must be made by a current IWA member and can only be submitted through the online forms.

These awards will be presented during the 8th IWA Microbial Ecology and Water Engineering Specialist Conference in Hiroshima, Japan, 17-20 November 2019.

For all enquiries, please contact Ms. Kambiri Cox at